And you may ask yourself: “well, how did I get here?”.

Over the years I’ve provided content for other peoples’ blogs, maybe it’s time I get my own up and at ’em.

So what will people be reading here? Those who know me know my love of cycling in all of its’ forms. They know I also like to cook (and eat). Many of my acquaintances also know of my journey from traditional media to sales to sales in the social media space.

So that’s what we’ll do here. Cycling, food, social media. You know, that old chestnut.

Mostly however, cycling. That’s been something that consumed me since I was a 14 year old kid. My connection to what was pretty much an unheard of sport began when my mother was watching the 1976 Olympics from Montreal.  The team pursuit was happening in the once gorgeous Montreal Velodrome. “Hey, I bet that’s something you could do”.

Up to that point my sporting life was typical of a Canadian kid. This means lots of hockey in the winter and baseball in the summer. Unfortunately, being the smallest guy on the team I would never stand a chance of making it out of house league. Frustrated, I eventually walked away from organized sports. One thing I did do however was to ride my bike everywhere I could. I didn’t think of the health benefits of it, I just liked the freedom.

My mothers’ suggestion stuck with me but it wasn’t until I was 20 that I considered cycling beyond a way to get to the corner store. Cycling was beginning creep into the North American conscience. A kid from Reno, Nevada named Greg Lemond won the world championship road race and suddenly this sport with it’s odd traditions and stranger dress code might be something worth looking into.

Locally, a burgeoning cycling scene was taking hold with a well organized club and a racing scene was starting to emerge. My local ski/bike shop had a good selection and helpful staff, one of whom was a younger local racer who was quick to recommend a bike and some gear that may help me get started.

Twenty seven years later, that local racer remains one of my closest friends and we continue to ride the same roads we did as young bucks in our twenties. One of us rides them a bit slower however.

Over the past twenty seven years I’ve been a decent criterium racer, a road racer who did well until the road turned uphill, a mountain bike racer and a dad who is hoping to pass his passion along to three kids.

Today I ride mostly for fitness doing everything I can to stave off Father Time. But something happened a couple of years ago that re-ignited my passion for riding and for the people you meet while riding bicycles.

I got a Twitter account and started following pro-cyclists, bike companies, advocates and the like. Before you knew it I was having conversations with other cyclists the world over. Not just any cyclists, influential bicycle people. I was chatting with prominent bloggers, pros and even got a tweet from Gary Fisher. C’mon, the dude invented the mountain bike!

There’s something to this social media thing.

Now connected to a global community I can engage with those who share an appreciation for life on two wheels. I interview cyclists from all levels, blogs ask me to review products for them and finding inspiration for a ride can be just a tweet away.

For me, a blog is the next logical step in my social media experience. Without blogging I kind of felt some of the guilt I feel when I watch PBS pledge drives. I love the programming on PBS, just not enough to cough up a donation. Just as I really enjoy social media, just not enough to provide original and meaningful content.

So let’s change that. Let’s chat about bikes, food and this crazy thing we call social media.

Until next time. Ride to eat, eat to ride.

thebaldbiker

3 thoughts on “And you may ask yourself: “well, how did I get here?”.

  1. Kowy! says:

    I registered for CEGEP in that beautiful velodrome – I think it may have been one of the last uses of the place before they gutted it. Now, we go there to visit the penguins and the tropical rain forest.

    Glad to see you’ve finally got a blog. Looking forward to reading more.

    (and yay..your first commenter)

  2. Pixie says:

    Great writing as usual. 27 yrs?????? Crazy. Look forward to reading the next one.

  3. John says:

    Congrats on the new blog.

Leave a Reply

